FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   PreferencesPreferences   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Reply to topic Go to page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zapmeister
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 3:50    Post subject: The 50-move draw rule Reply with quote

Is it 50 moves altogether (i.e. 25 by each player) or 50 moves by each player that produces a draw? I think that if it's 25 moves per player, then Black (who needs to close his net slowly) has little or no chance.
Back to top
bramOffline
Superadmin
Superadmin
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Total posts: 1066
Gender: Unknown
Netherlands
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 8:38    Post subject: Re: The 50-move draw rule Reply with quote

Zapmeister wrote:
Is it 50 moves altogether (i.e. 25 by each player) or 50 moves by each player that produces a draw? I think that if it's 25 moves per player, then Black (who needs to close his net slowly) has little or no chance.


It is 25 moves by each player. I will clarify the rules later!

Thx for asking this.
Back to top
View user's profile 
Glorfindel
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 9:59    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure Bram? In chess 50 moves means 50 moves of both players!
Back to top
bramOffline
Superadmin
Superadmin
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Total posts: 1066
Gender: Unknown
Netherlands
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 10:12    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glorfindel wrote:
Are you sure Bram? In chess 50 moves means 50 moves of both players!


not sure... but 50 moves of both players seems a very long time Smile

I think 25 is enough, but convince me otherwise Smile
Back to top
View user's profile 
Glorfindel
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 11:01    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well in chess it is certainly not, but in draughts it also seems to be 25 moves (of both players).
Back to top
bramOffline
Superadmin
Superadmin
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Total posts: 1066
Gender: Unknown
Netherlands
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 11:40    Post subject: Reply with quote

But condering the argument of the topic poster, lets keep it at 50 moves of both players!
Back to top
View user's profile 
Zapmeister
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 13:45    Post subject: Reply with quote

bram wrote:
But condering the argument of the topic poster, lets keep it at 50 moves of both players!


Drat! I'm currently in a game in which no captures have taken place, but I have a complete encirclement and would obviously win if not for this rule. As it is, we're at turn 25, and I'm sure my opponent will claim a draw as soon as I play.

Since the purpose of the rule is to end games that would never end otherwise, I really think it should be 50 turns by each player.

EDIT: Yep, he's just claimed a draw. The game is number 11774, if you want to take a look.
Back to top
RiskyOffline
Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Total posts: 19
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Netherlands
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 14:05    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, that's true. I wouldn't have lasted another 25 turns each.
Back to top
View user's profile 
Glorfindel
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 14:49    Post subject: Reply with quote

bram wrote:
But condering the argument of the topic poster, lets keep it at 50 moves of both players!
Yeah, I've quite some experience with this game (finished 3rd in the Jijbent-championship) and indeed sometimes you really need more than 50 plies (25 moves) to capture a pawn.
Back to top
Zapmeister
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 0:22    Post subject: Reply with quote

So then, what do I do? Play on or concede the draw?
Back to top
Glorfindel
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 7:53    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd say concede, because the game was started when the rule was that you can claim a draw after 50 non-capturing moves (25 of both players). Sorry for all this, but this is typical for a site in its starting phase.
Back to top
Zapmeister
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 7:55    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glorfindel wrote:
I'd say concede, because the game was started when the rule was that you can claim a draw after 50 non-capturing moves (25 of both players). Sorry for all this, but this is typical for a site which has just started.


OK, will do. But I really think this rule needs to be reviewed ...

EDIT: Risky, can you re-do the draw offer with your next move?


Last edited by Guest on Tue May 02, 2006 7:59; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Glorfindel
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 7:57    Post subject: Reply with quote

We all do (except probably for your opponent Wink)
Back to top
RiskyOffline
Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Total posts: 19
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Netherlands
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 8:44    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let's just say I lucked out of a loss here...
Back to top
View user's profile 
Twaburov
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:22    Post subject: . Reply with quote

Why is that stupid 50 moves rule????? Sometimes you need more than that to win.. I had a winnning position and my opponent claimed a draw because of 50 moves Confused Confused
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group